Nestled alongside Blowing Rock’s Memorial park is a small white cottage known as the 1888 Museum. The cottage is one of several that was built in 1888 to provide additional lodging for the Watauga Hotel. Built in 1884, the hotel was the first to be built in Blowing Rock. The cottages were popular for the peaceful village life they provided. Today, this cottage is the last remaining piece of history from Blowing Rock’s first hotel. Owned by the Town of Blowing Rock and managed by the Blowing Rock Historical Society, the building serves as a museum that emphasizes Blowing Rock's long history of supporting tourism. The museum is open daily, and admission is free.